IIA AWARDS, Architecture, IIA Awards for Excellence in Architecture, Kovalam, Divya Kush, The Indian Institute of Architects, VerendraWakhloo, Matra Architects, Rurban Planners, Swapnil Valvatkar, Collage Architecture studio, Narayan Moorthy, Kumar Moorthy, BakirZafar, Noor Aboojiwala, NBZ Architectural Consultants, Masjid-e-Haji AbdurRauf, Bijoy Ramachandran, Hundredhands Design, Bangalore International Centre, Christopher Charles, CCBA designs, Krohne Marshall, Pinkish Shah, S+PS Architects, Vivek Singh Rathore, Salient Architects, Amit Aurora, Group DCA, Fanattic Sports Museum, Madhav Joshi, Madhav Joshi & Associates, Sidhartha talwar, Studio Lotus, Anubhav Gupta, GPL Design Studio, Imagine studio, The Trees, Madhushitha C A, Cochin Creative Collective, Sujata C. Hingorani, Oasis Designs, Mohandas P, ArjunRajan

IIA Awards for Excellence in Architecture 2018 announced

The event, held at Kovalam in Kerala, becomes the most represented architectural award in the history of the Indian Institute of Architects (IIA)

The winners of prestigious IIA Awards for Excellence in Architecture for 2018 was announced at the valedictory function held at Kovalam, Trivandrum. This year saw a record number of 537 entries from across the country, thus making it the most represented architecture awards in the history of the Indian Institute of Architects (IIA), the national professional organisation of architects founded in 1917. The two-day event also witnessed 82 of the country’s finest projects presented by its architects and an exhibition of all the shortlisted entrees. About 1,000 delegates and 600 architecture students from across the country participated in the event.

Architect Divya Kush, president, IIA, presented the awards - which were adjudged in categories of Residential, Interior- Non Residential, Socially Responsible, Commercial, Public Institutional, Industrial – Infrastructure, Interior – Residential, Hospitality & Recreation, Conservation, Landscape, Unbuilt and Research.

Architect Jeremy Smith

Architect VerendraWakhloo, Matra Architects & Urban Planners won the prestigious award in the ‘Residential A’ category for Kaleka House. Architect SwapnilValvatkar, Collage Architecture Studio was the winner in ‘Residential B’category for the project Rohan Aviriti- An Urban Oasis. Architect Narayan Moorthy, Kumar Moorthy and Associates won the award in the Commercial category for the corporate office for Creative Travel. Architect Bakir Zafar and late architect Noor Aboojiwala, NBZ Architectural Consultants won the ‘Public –Institutional’ category award for Masjid-e-Haji Abdur Rauf project, while architect Bijoy Ramachandran, Hundredhands Design won Commendation in the same category for Bangalore International Centre. Architect Christopher Charles Benninger, CCBA Designs Pvt Ltd won the award in the ‘Industrial Infrastructure’ category for Krohne Marshall.

Architect Pinkish Shah, S+PS Architects won the award in the ‘Interior-Residential’ category for the Pavillion House. Architect Vivek Singh Rathore, Salient Architects and Architect Amit Aurora, Group DCA were declared joint winners in the ‘Interior – Non Residential’ category for their projects Fanattic Sports Museum and Office for Communique Marketing Solutions respectively. Architect Madhav Joshi, Madhav Joshi & Associates won the award for Backpacker’s Hostel in the ‘Hospitality and Recreation’ category. Architect SidharthaTalwar (from Studio Lotus) and Architect Anubhav Gupta (from GPL Design Studio) won the award in the ‘Conservation category’ for Imagine Studio at The Trees. Architect Madhushitha CA, Cochin Creative Collective won the award in ‘Unbuilt’ category for 1868 House.

Architect Sujata C Hingorani, Oasis Designs Inc., won the award in the ‘Landscape’ category for JM Streetscape, Pune Streets Programme. Architect Mohandas P, Stapati and Vanam were the joint winner in the ‘Landscape’ category for designing the Malabar Headquarters. In the ‘Social Responsible’ category, architect Arjun Rajan, A’Factree Architects won the commendation for Transition Homes. Architect Shilpa Sharma, IES College of Architecture, won the award in the ‘Research’ category.

Architect Myrto Vitart

Architect N Mahesh, chairman –Events, IIA, Trivandum said, “We are extremely pleased to have hosted the prestigious IIA Awards for Excellence in Architecture for 2018 in Trivandrum. This is the most coveted architecture event, where the best in the fraternity converged to deliberate, discuss and internally review the state of architecture. We believe this initiative has significant potential in shaping the way forward. Architects have a tremendous impact on the lives of people if they are meaningfully engaged by society. This award holds great significance as it is adjudged and given by fellow architects.”

The keynote speakers at the two-day event included architects NeelkanthChhaya, MyrtoVitart, Jeremy Smith and Jaimini Mehta.  The 13-member grand jury comprised architects KT Ravindran, Madura PremaTilleke, MyrtoVitart, Jeremy Smith, Jaimini Mehta, Sameep Padora, Jayakumar Pillai, Kamal Malik, Neelkanth Chhaya, Vinit Mirkar, Habeeb Khan, Durganand Balsavar and S Gopakumar.

While Mahesh was the chairman of the Event, architect Saiju Mohammed Basheer, chairman of IIA Trivandrum Centre was the general convener. The core committee comprised architects Varghese Panicker, Zeril Jose, Dharma Keerthi, Jayakrishnan KB, Sudhir B, G Viswanathan and Krishnan Potti.

Trivandrum Architecture and Aesthetic Celebration (TAAC) 2019 was an initiative by the Trivandrum Centre of the IIA, hosted in the capital city of Kerala.  It was an explorative channel to connect architecture students and eminent personalities in the field of architecture with the sole purpose of bringing out multitudes of design dimensions that the realm of architecture carves out in our society. It was a platform for presenting a series of experimental pursuits amalgamated with an exchange of design wisdom, dialogues between architecture and the wider society.

The Indian Institute of Architects (IIA) is the national body of architects, with over 20,000 active members. The Awards are constituted to encourage, acknowledge, appreciate and honour the creative contribution of the IIA members all over India in the field of architecture. The institute has created this platform for the architects to present their creations, which can lead to meaningful debates and dialogues aimed at defining a new direction for architectural practice in the country.



10 Feb, 2020
Focus on LEED and the power of green buildings at the third edition of flagship event
08 Feb, 2020
Competition closes on February 25, 2020
08 Feb, 2020
Traditional textile and non-textile craft products will be on view