LafargeHolcim Awards, Sustainable Construction, Next Generation, Jeannette Kuo, Karamuk Kuo Architects, Switzerland, Reed Kroloff, Illinois Institute of Technology, USA, Loreta Castro Reguera, Taller Capital, Latin America, Mariam Kamara, Projects, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Venice Biennale of Architecture

Final call to enter USD 2 million LafargeHolcim Awards

The world’s most significant competition for sustainable design - now in its sixth edition - is invitng entries until February 25, 2020

Entries to the 6th International LafargeHolcim Awards for Sustainable Construction will close on February 25, 2020. The competition seeks projects by professionals as well as bold ideas from the Next Generation that combine sustainable construction solutions with architectural excellence. The awards foreground projects and concepts from architecture, engineering, urban planning, materials science, construction technology, and related fields.

Organized by the LafargeHolcim Foundation, the competition takes place across five geographic regions – each with its own jury of renowned and independent specialists. The regional juries are headed by Jeannette Kuo, Karamuk Kuo Architects, Switzerland (Europe); Reed Kroloff, Illinois Institute of Technology, USA (North America); Loreta Castro Reguera, Taller Capital, Mexico (Latin America); Mariam Kamara, atelier masōmī, Niger (Middle East Africa); and Nirmal Kishnani, National University of Singapore (Asia Pacific).

The main category of the competition is open to architects, planners, engineers, project owners, builders and construction firms showcasing sustainable responses within contemporary building and construction. Projects must have reached an advanced stage of design, have a high probability of execution, and may not have started construction before January 1, 2019.

In addition, students and young professionals (aged 30 years or younger) may submit visionary concepts and bold ideas in the Next Generation category of the competition. Submissions may be at an early stage of design – including research and design studio work. Entry in the competition is free and must be made in English using a web-based form:

Submissions will be evaluated according to five “target issues” for sustainable construction that aim to clarify principles for sustaining the human habitat for future generations. The “target issues” cover innovation and transferability; ethical standards and social inclusion; resource and environmental performance; economic viability and compatibility; as well as contextual and aesthetic impact.

The winners will be announced in the second half of 2020 at awards ceremonies in each region. The main winners then compete for the global LafargeHolcim Awards in 2021, to be evaluated by a global jury headed by Hashim Sarkis, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA and curator of the 2020 Venice Biennale of Architecture.

About the LafargeHolcim Foundation
Since 2003, the LafargeHolcim Foundation for Sustainable Construction raises awareness of the important role that architecture, engineering, urban planning, and the building industry have in achieving a more sustainable future. The foundation expresses the commitment of its sponsor LafargeHolcim to drive sustainability in building and construction. LafargeHolcim is the global leader in building materials and solutions.



29 May, 2020
The Guild, Mumbai, presents a selection of paintings, From Ash to Spring, that takes us on the journey of Iranna’s more...
24 May, 2020
The trade fair releases new press note highlighting exemplary strategies that will address climate change
18 May, 2020
Kochi-based designers Utharaa Zacharias & Palaash Chaudhary curate an interesting design show in collaboration with eleven studios from around the more...